Governor - Scott K. Walker Adjutant General - Major General Donald P. Dunbar

Red Arrow

With more than 3,400 Soldiers and units based in 36 Wisconsin communities, the 32nd Infantry Brigade Combat Team is the largest unit in the Wisconsin Army National Guard. Brigade combat teams are the basic deployable combat maneuver units in the U.S. Army today. The 32nd IBCT resembles a small-scale combat division, with infantry, cavalry, field artillery, and special troops units for intelligence, signal, military police, and combat engineers.

The 32nd IBCT is descended from the 32nd “Red Arrow” Division. In 1967, the 32nd Division was inactivated and reorganized as the 32nd Infantry Brigade (Separate) (Mechanized). The 32nd was again reorganized into the 32nd IBCT in 2007 to reflect the needs of the U.S. military for operations in the Middle East and Southwest Asia.

The 32nd Infantry Brigade Combat Team spent 2008 training and preparing for a mobilization and deployment. The unit was alerted in late 2007, and it received a mobilization order in December that called up more than 3,000 Soldiers for an active duty mission in Iraq, beginning in 2009. Eight other Wisconsin National Guard units were tapped to augment the brigade. This is the largest operational deployment of Wisconsin National Guard forces since World War II. The 32nd will have a security force mission and will be assigned tasks to assure freedom of movement and continuity of operations in Iraq.

32nd IBCT News


Headquarters and Headquarters Company - Camp Douglas

1st Battalion, 120th Field Artillery
Headquarters and Headquarters Battery - Wisconsin Rapids
Battery A - Marshfield
Battery B - Stevens Point
2nd Battalion, 127th Infantry
Headquarters and Headquarters Company (-) - Appleton
Detachment 1, Headquarters Company - Clintonville
          Company A (-) - Waupun
Detachment 1, Company A - Ripon
          Company B - Green Bay
          Company C - Fond du Lac
          Company D - Marinette
1st Battalion, 128th Infantry
Headquarters and Headquarters Company (-) - Eau Claire
Detachment 1, Headquarters Company - Abbotsford
          Company A - Menomonie
          Company B (-) - New Richmond
Detachment 1, Company B - Rice Lake
          Company C (-) - Arcadia
Detachment 1, Company C - Onalaska
          Company D - River Falls
132nd Brigade Support Battalion
Headquarters and Headquarters Company - Portage
Company A (-) (Distribution) - Janesville
          Detachment 1, Company A - Elkhorn
Company B (Maintenance) - Mauston
Company C (Medical) - Milwaukee
Company D (-) (Forward Support) - Baraboo
          Detachment 1, Company D - Madison
Company E (-) (Forward Support) - Waupaca
          Detachment 1, Company E - Appleton
Company F (-) (Forward Support) - Neillsville
          Detachment 1, Company F - Eau Claire
Company G (-) (Forward Support) - Mosinee
          Detachment 1, Company G - Wisconsin Rapids
Brigade Special Troops Battalion
Headquarters and Headquarters Company (-) - Wausau
Detachment 1, Headquarters Company - Merrill
          Company A (Engineer) - Onalaska
          Company B (-) (Military Intelligence) - Madison
Detachment 1, Company B (TUAS) - Camp Douglas
          Company C (Signal) - Antigo
1st Squadron, 105th Cavalry (Reconnaissance, Surveillance and Target Acquisition)
Headquarters and Headquarters Troop - Madison
Troop A - Fort Atkinson
Troop B - Watertown
Troop C - Reedsburg

(-) - Headquarters of a split unit


32nd Infantry Brigade
127th Infantry Regiment
128th Infantry Regiment
105th Cavalry Regiment
120th Field Artillery Regiment
132nd Support Battalion
Special Troops Battalion, 32nd IBCT