The State Interoperability Council (IC) is established under Wis. Stat. § 15.315 and 323.29 to develop strategies and recommend standards and guidelines for achieving statewide communications interoperability for Wisconsin's public safety community. The IC Charter outlines the authority, purpose, and responsibilities of the IC. Members are appointed by the Governor and represent key state and local stakeholders.

As the main statewide planning and governance body for communications interoperability in Wisconsin, the IC has created several subcommittees and working groups to address particular communications issues. There are four subcommittees: 9-1-1, Land Mobile Radio (LMR), Nationwide Public Safety Broadband Network (NPSBN), and Wisconsin Interoperable System for Communications (WISCOM). Additionally, the Communications Unit Workgroup falls under the LMR Subcommittee. On September 26, 2019 the IC adopted updated by-laws which govern each of the four subcommittees and provide more information about the responsibilities of each. The updated by-laws also require that a public notice be given when the IC intends to fill a vacancy on the LMR, WISCOM, or NPSBN Subcommittees.

As of February 19, 2020, the IC intends to fill the following vacancies:

LMR Subcommittee

  1. Region 45 700/800 MHz Group Representative
  2. Region 54 700/800 MHz Group Representative
  3. State EMS Communications Coordinator (or their designee)
  4. State Frequency Coordinator
  5. Northeast Region Representative
  6. Northwest Region Representative
  7. Southeast Region Representative
  8. Southwest Region Representative
  9. West Central Region Representative
  10. WI State Patrol Representative
  11. WI Department of Natural Resources Representative
  12. Federal Entity Representative

NPSBN Subcommittee

  1. Fire Service - Career Agency Representative
  2. WI Emergency Medical Services Representative
  3. WI Department of Admin./Division of Enterprise Technology Representative
  4. WI Public Service Commission Representative
  5. Professional Public Safety Communications Association Representative
  6. WI Dept. of Military Affairs Representative
  7. Representative from an American Indian Tribe or Band
  8. Individual with experience/expertise in wireless broadband

WISCOM Subcommittee

  1. East Central Region Representative (2 seats)
  2. Northeast Region Representative (2 seats)
  3. Northwest Region Representative (2 seats)
  4. Southeast Region Representative
  5. Southwest Region Representative (2 seats)
  6. WI State Patrol Representative
  7. WI Dept of Natural Resources Representative
  8. WI Dept of Health Services Representative
  9. WI Department of Military Affairs Representative
  10. WI Department of Corrections Representative
  11. Representative from an American Indian Tribe or Band
  12. Federal Entity daily user

To apply for a vacant position listed above, please submit a written letter of nomination using the following form:    Subcommittee Membership Written Nomination Letter

All written letters of nomination must be submitted using the form above or emailed to by March 20, 2020, which signifies the end of the 30-day nomination period.

For more information about the application process, please refer to the Steps for Applying for an IC Subcommittee Vacancy document found on the OEC website