MADISON, Wis. — Local governments and private non-profit agencies that sustained damage during the June flooding in northwest Wisconsin are encouraged to attend briefings this week to learn about applying for federal disaster assistance.

Earlier this month, Governor Walker announced that six Wisconsin counties were approved by the Federal Emergency Management Agency for disaster assistance to help with costs associated with debris removal, emergency protective measures and damage to public infrastructure such as roads and bridges. The counties in the declaration are Ashland, Bayfield, Burnett, Clark, Douglas and Iron.

Teams of specialists from Wisconsin Emergency Management and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) will explain how state and local agencies and certain private non-profit groups can apply for federal Public Assistance (PA) to help recover from flooding. Under the cost-share program, FEMA funds 75 percent of the cost for eligible work; 25 percent is shared equally between state and local applicants. The PA program is not for businesses or homeowners.

Disaster Declaration 4383 – Severe Storms and Flooding Resources

The applicant briefings will be held at the following times and locations:

Wednesday – August 22, 2018
Clark County - 1:00 – 3:00 pm
Clark County Courthouse
5th Floor County Board Room
517 Court Street
Neillsville, WI 54456

Iron County – 2:00 - 4:00 pm
Hurley City Hall, Meeting Room
405 5th Avenue North
Hurley, WI 54534

Thursday – August 23, 2018
Douglas County – 10:00 – 12:00pm
Douglas County Government Center, Rm 270
1316 N. 14th Street
Superior, WI 54880

Bayfield County - 9:00 – 11:00 am
Bayfield County Courthouse – Emergency Operations Center
117 East 6th Street
Washburn, WI 54891

Ashland County – 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Morse Town Hall
402 2nd Ave
Mellen, WI 54546

Burnett County – 3:00 – 5:00 pm
Burnet County Government Center, Room 165
7410 County Road K
Siren, WI 54872


Tags: NEWS , WEM , ReadyWisconsin


FB100   TWITTER100   INSTAGRAM100   YT100   FLICKR   WEM_News