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Department of Workforce Development EMPLOYER’S FIRST REPORT OF INJURY OR DISEASE 
Worker’s Compensation Division
201 E. Washington Ave., Rm. C100 Fatal Injuries: Employers subject to ch.102, Wis. Stats., must report injuries resulting in death to the 
P.O. Box 7901Department and to their insurance carrier, if insured, within one day after the death of the employee. 
Madison, WI  53707-7901 Non-Fatal Injuries: If the injury or occupational illness results in disability beyond the three-day waiting 
Imaging Server Fax: (608) 260-2503 period, the employer, if insured, must notify its insurance carrier within 7 days after the injury or beginning 
Telephone: (608) 266-1340 of disability. Medical-only claims are to be reported to the insurance carrier only, not the Department. 
http://www.dwd.wisconsin.gov/wc Electronic Reporting Requirement: All work-related injuries and illnesses resulting in compensable lost 
e-mail: DWDDWC@dwd.wisconsin.govtime, with the exception of fatalities, must be reported electronically to the Department via EDI or Internet 

by the insurance carrier or self-insured employer within 14 days of the date of injury or beginning of 
disability. Employer may fax claims for fatal injuries to (608) 267-0394. 

Provision of your Social Security Number (SSN) is voluntary. Failure to provide it may result in an information processing delay. 
Personal information you provide may be used for secondary purposes [Privacy Law, s. 15.04 (1)(m), Wisconsin Statutes]. 
(Please read the instructions on page 2 for completing this form) 
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E Employee Name (First, Middle, Last) Social Security Number Sex 
M F 

Employee Home Telephone No. 

Claimant Address City State Zip Code Occupation 

Birthdate Date of Hire County and State Where Accidentor Exposure

Employer Name WI Unemployment Ins. Acct No. Self-Insured? 
Yes No 

Nature of Business (Specific Product) 

Employer Mailing Address City State Zip Code Employer FEIN 

Name of Worker’s Compensation Insurance Co. or Self-Insured Employer 
Self- State of Wisconsin, Bureau of State Risk Management 

Insurer FEIN 
396028867 

Name and Address of Third Party Administrator (TPA) Used by the Insurance Company or Self-Insured Employer TPA FEIN 

Wage at Time of Injury 

$ 

Specify per hr., wk., mo., yr., etc. 

Per: 

In Addition to Wages, Meals No. of Meals/wk. 
Check Box(es) if Room No. of Days/wk 
Employee Received: Tips Avg. Weekly Amt. $ 

Is Worker Paid for Overtime? Yes No If Yes, After How Many Hours of Work Per Week? 
For the 52 Week Period Prior to the Week the Injury Occurred, Report Below the Number of Weeks Worked in the Same Kind of Work, 
and the Total Wages, Salary, Commission and Bonus or Premium Earned for Such Weeks. 
No. of 
Weeks: Gross Amount Excluding Tips: $  If Piece-Work, No. of Hrs. Excluding Overtime: 

Start Time Hours Per Day Hours Per Week Days Per Week 

Employee’s Usual Work Schedule When Injured: : AM PM 
Employer’s Usual Full-Time Schedule for This 

Type of Work at Time of Employee’s Injury: 
Part-Time 
Employment 
Information: 

Are there Other Part-Time Workers Doing the Same Work 
With the Same Schedule? 

Yes No If yes, how many? 

Number of Full-Time Employees Doing The 
Same Type Of Work: 

Injury Date Time of Injury Last Day Worked Date Employer Notified Date Returned to Work: 
Estimated Date of Return: 

Did Injury Cause Death? 
Yes   No 

Date of Death Was This a Lost Time or
Other Compensable Injury? 

Yes No 
Substance Failure to Use Failure to 
Abuse Safety Devices Obey Rules 

Was Employee Treated in an Emergency Room? Yes No  Was Employee Hospitalized Overnight as an In-Patient? Yes  No 
Name and Address of Treating Practitioner and Hospital: 
Case Number from the OSHA Log: 
Injury Description - Describe Activities of Employee When Injury or Illness Occurred and What Tools, Machinery, Objects, Chemicals, Etc. Were 
Involved. 

What Happened to Cause This Injury or Illness? (Describe How The Injury Occurred) 

What Was The Injury or Illness? (State the Part of Body Affected and How It Was Affected) 

Report Prepared By Work Phone Number Position Date Signed 

WKC-12-E (R. 10/2016) SEND REPORT IMMEDIATELY DO NOT WAIT FOR MEDICAL REPORT 

mailto:DWDDWC@dwd.wisconsin.gov
http://www.dwd.wisconsin.gov/wc


 
 

  
  

  
   

   
 

 
  

 
     

 
 

 
 

 
 

   
  

 
 

  
    

 
 

  
  

 
   

 
 

 
 

 
  

    

   
  

 

EMPLOYER AND INSURANCE CARRIER INSTRUCTIONS 

The employer must complete all relevant sections on this form and submit it to the employer’s worker’s 
compensation insurance carrier or third party claim administrator within seven (7) days after the date of a 
work-related injury which causes permanent or temporary disability resulting in compensation for lost time. The 
employer’s insurance carrier or the third-party claim’s administrator may request that this form also be used to 
immediately report any injury requiring medical treatment, even though it does not involve lost work time. 

For any work injury resulting in a fatality, the employer must also submit this form directly to the Department 
of Workforce Development within 24 hours of the fatality. 

An employer exempt from the duty to insure under s. 102.28, Wis. Stats., and an insurance carrier 
administering claims for an insured employer are required to submit this form to the Department of Workforce 
Development within 14 days of the date of work injury. 

MANDATORY INFORMATION 

In order to accurately administer claims, each of the following sections of this form must be 
completed. The First Report of Injury will be returned to the sender if the mandatory information is not 
provided. 

Employee Section: Provide all requested information to identify the injured employee. If an employee has 
multiple dates of employment, the “Date of Hire” is the date the employee was hired for the job on which he or 
she was injured. 

Employer Section: Provide all requested information to identify the injured worker’s employer at the time of 
injury. Provide the name and Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) for the insurance carrier or self-
insured employer responsible for the worker’s compensation expenses for this injury. Also identify the third 
party claim administrator, if one is used for this claim. 

Wage Information Section: Provide the information requested regarding the injured employee’s wage and 
hours worked for the job being performed at the time of injury. 

Injury Information Section: Provide information regarding the date and time of injury. Provide a detailed 
description of the injury, including part of the body injured, the specific nature of the injury (i.e., fracture, strain, 
concussion, burn, etc.) and the use of any objects or tools (i.e., saw, ladder, vehicle, etc.) that may have 
caused the injury. Provide the name of the person preparing this report and the telephone number at which 
they may be reached, if additional information is needed.  This form was designed to include information 
required by OSHA on form 301.  If this section is completed and retained, the employer will not have to 
complete the OSHA 301 form. 
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